Welcome Friend

If you’re here it’s because you’re curious and that makes us kindred spirits. Better to raise our heads and look around in wonder than spend our whole lives staring at the next pack mule’s twitching tail in front of us as we trudge along the well worn path. The beginning is messy and the end never a happy, but the middle, that’s the good part where we get to see and do and explore the endless beauty of this marvelous world and humongous universe beyond.

What’s my story? Just a guy who knows a little about a lot, well traveled in my youth but now with roots grown deeply into the bedrock of Colorado. I always wanted to be a writer but with the attention span of a drunken flea, stringing more than two or three paragraphs together often seems a chore. I own a small business selling mining and industrial supplies http://www.rfssupply.com/ and also a small manufacturing company http://www.whipchek.com/  There are 10 of us and the employees are my friends as well as co-workers. Together we make a good living for ourselves and I believe each would agree they treat me like gold and I respond in like and kind. It’s always so puzzling that large companies would think it good practice to abuse their best asset. 

Another passion besides work which I do truly love, is amateur photography with no particular focus on anything other than interesting subjects and lots of color. Some of my images can be found here http://www.flickr.com/photos/100516402@N08/

…and that’s enough for now, thanks for taking a moment to stop by!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Welcome Friend

  1. Great post, Frank! You are a humorous writer! I’m hitting the follow button so I’ll be sure to get your next post, whether it be a photo or something written. You sound like a great boss. I’ve worked for horrible ones, so it’s nice to know that there are ones out there in touch with their humanity. Cheers!

    • Thanks Eliza, and truth be told whatever is good for the employees is good for the company. We are not interchangeable tooling, to be used up and disposed of on any managers whim. Experience builds knowledge and knowledge is power. I don’t care what the Wunderkind Wharton MBA’s think, the proof is in the pudding.

      Treat people like humans, pay them well, cover their healthcare, give them time off and they’ll walk through fire to keep the company successful. Abuse them, cheat them, ignore them, and the company will devolve in short order. It seems like such a simple axiom but very smart people fail to get it. Hmmmm…you just gave me the seed pearl for my next blog, thanks!

  2. that’s an impressive introduction. A guy who knows a little about a lot is what exactly I aspire to; well-educated guy. So you wanted to be a writer, I am pretty sure WordPress is helping you make that possible. I look forward to read more of your posts, sounds interesting. 🙂 Best of luck on your journey.

    • Thanks very much Ahmed, I read several of your posts on your blog and I must say, for English not being your first language you have an impressive command of it! As far as writing and aspirations, what I really want first and foremost is to be a good decent human. Anything else is just icing on the cake (G).

Leave a Reply

